East Zion Consolidated District Association


Celebrating 104 Years of Mission, Ministry and Service!

"Forging a New Destiny - The Beginning"

Dr. Kelly R. Booker, District Moderator

McKinley Brown / Lois Swain Scholarship


The Scholarship Committee was organized in 1996 to implement and develop criteria for awarding funds to youth of the East Zion Consolidated District.  Two (2) $500.00 scholarships will be awarded to two deserving youth in the District Association.  Criteria Includes::


  • The student must submit a typed or electronic application to the Scholarship Committee.  
  • The applicant must be an active member in the East Zion Consolidated District.  (A letter of recommendation from the EZCDA Youth Advisory Council or the EZCDA Youth Director/Jr. Laymen Director is required).   
  • The student must be a member of a financially active EZD Church.
  • The student must submit an official transcript with the application. (High school students must have a 3.0 GPA, or ranked in the 25% of the class).  (College students must have a 2.5 GPA).
  • Students must show proof of college enrollment. (Trade/Skill/Vocational schools are acceptable.  Military Academies or Military Training will not be accepted).

2020 Scholarship Recipients

The McKinley Brown-Lois Swain Scholarship Committee congratulates this Year’s scholarship winners: Cymirah Williams and Zachary James. These young scholars have followed the guidelines required by the District and were awarded $500.00.

Cymirah, daughter of Calvin and Cheronda Williams, is a 2020 graduate from Millwood High and will attend Butler College, El Dorado, Kansas in the fall as an Animal Science Major. She is a member of Fairview Baptist Church, Dr. J. A. Reed, Jr., Pastor. Cymirah was a member of the Junior and Youth Choirs, G.A.’s, Youth Ushers, and an EZCDA Grandma’s Bible Praise Dancer. Cymirah has signed with the Butler Lady Grizzlies Basketball Team.

Zachary, son of Ray and Joyce James, graduated from Harding Charter Preparatory in 2018 and is a Political Science Major at Wichita State University, Wichita, Kansas. Zachary is a member of Greater New Zion Baptist Church, Rev. Kenneth Sherrill, Sr., Pastor. He has served as Youth Usher, Choir member, Junior Laymen, District Youth Officer, Juanita Arnold Oratorical winner and OK Baptist State Oratorical winner. Currently he is a member of WSU Student Government, Black Student Union and Presidents Diversity Council.

Scholarship Committee Presents 2020 McKinley Brown / Lois Swain Scholarships

Mr. Zachary James received his scholarship award, presented at the Greater New Zion Baptist Church on Sunday, August 2.  The Scholarship Committee met at the home of Cymirah Williams on Tuesday, August 4, to present her scholarship award.  See photos below

Rev. Kenneth Sherrill, Sr., Scholarship Committee Chairman

Rev. Kelly R. Booker, EZCDA Moderator